I Will Run a Marathon

10 Nov

Well, I told you that I had marathon fever, didn’t I? :D

Then again, who wouldn’t have marathon fever after seeing the incredible energy, from the runners and the crowds, at the NYC Marathon on Sunday?

I watched from 90th Street and Fifth Avenue. Then, I crossed Central Park to watch near the finish line, without having a ticket– no easy feat, let me tell you!

{Of course, I forgot my camera, so the photos above are from my phone. Excuse the poor quality.}

However, once I nudged my way to the front row, it was so much fun :D I could hear the finish line announcers over the speakers and they were hilarious.

At one point, they reported that Edison Pena, a Chilean miner, was coming, but eventually I had to leave. Did you know that he trained in the tunnels of the mine? His story is fantastic, if you want to check it out.

I was keeping an eye out for Al Roker and Meredith Vieira, but no luck. Out of 45,000 runners, I have to say that a few did stand out:

*Minnie Mouse (this was a male runner, mind you)
*the devil (still not sure how his red face paint stayed flawless for 26.2 miles)
*the statue of liberty (that had to be unbelievably uncomfortable to run a marathon in)
*at least 10 women in pink tutus (ballerinas turned runners?)

After I got too cold to stay outside any longer, I headed to the lululemon post-marathon party to warm up. I love lulu… :D

Congrats to all who ran! You are amazing. Can’t wait to see you again next year!!

Smile out loud,

Rachel

One Response to “I Will Run a Marathon”

  1. kari August 21, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Hey NYC-ers,
    I’m selling my brand new juicer on the cheap.
    Email If you’re interested. Link here:

    http://newyork.craigslist.org/que/app/4014144643.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

