Anti-Gravity Yoga

8 Aug

I tried anti-gravity yoga for the first time on Thursday… and LOVED IT!

It was a lot of fun 😀 I went to Om Factory (midtown west). Basically, the experience was like doing a vinyasa class 4 feet above the ground. Plus, some swinging and more inversions than I’ve probably ever done in a month.

My favorite pose was an upside down warrior II, which I showed you on my previous post. As it turns out, spending a few minutes in the pose stacks your spinal disks straight down (or up?) and leaves you 1/4 of an inch taller. Let’s just say I am short (I prefer petite, actually :D) enough to appreciate that…

When I walked out of the studio after class, my body felt perfectly aligned–and let me tell you, that RARELY happens. My mess of a lower back was happier than ever before 😀

Did the whole experience feel like the circus? Sometimes, maybe, yes. However, at the end of class, everyone laid down in the hammock like a cocoon and the teacher gave neck massages for savasna. That in itself might be reason enough to go to anti-gravity yoga class 😀

2 Responses to “Anti-Gravity Yoga”

  1. Jamie August 8, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Ohh I SO want to try this!!!! It looks like so much fun. It’s times like these I wish I lived in a big city. : )

  2. shizzknits August 17, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    Wow, this looks SO FUN!!!! Must go find a local class now…

Leave a Reply

