My Doubleheader and Asparagus “Sausages”

12 Aug

This is how I felt tonight, after I finished my doubleheader (of yoga classes, not baseball :D):

A picture is worth a thousand words, right? ‘Nuff said 😀

On to the food!

First, here’s a quick background story for you: On the first day of my internship this summer, I handed my college I.D. to the office building’s security guard for identification. Then, the person behind me also handed over her college I.D., at which point we realized we both go to the same college! We’d never met before that day, but we got to know each other over this summer and she is a very cool person! Coincidentally, she looks exactly like one of my cousins and it still surprises me every time I see her…

Anyway, today was the last day of her summer internship (at a firm 12 floors below mine) and tomorrow is her birthday. If this situation doesn’t qualify for a celebratory lunch, I don’t know what does 😀

She chose a restaurant for us called Dogmatic that specializes in sausage dogs. However, we are not talking about your average dogs. These sausages are free of hormones, antibiotics, and nitrates, and naturally low in fat?! That sounds like some sort of scientific breakthrough to me, but I wasn’t sure my stomach was quite up to the challenge of a sausage for lunch. Instead, I opted for “the sausage of vegetables.”

I loved it, and I don’t even like asparagus very much! So, if you’re looking for something different to have at your next backyard barbeque, stick a couple of asparagus spears in a hot dog bun. A vegetarian will thank you 😀

That’s all I got tonight! See you tomorrow 😀

5 Responses to “My Doubleheader and Asparagus “Sausages””

  1. A Teenage Gourmet August 14, 2010 at 6:32 am #

    Thanks for commenting on my tomato post. 🙂 I had no idea that you were a college student in New York City! I just visited this summer and had the time of my life. I’m trying to decided where to apply, and I’m considering New York. What are your thoughts on being a college kid in the city? What kind of person does it require?

  2. Damjana August 14, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Oh you totally made my day with your sweet comment!
    Asparagus are such a great idea to put into buns, why have I never thought of that?!
    Wish you a nice Sunday!

  3. sophia August 14, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Oh my god. that’s genius…sticking an asparagus into a hotdog bun. I NEED to try that in my own kitchen! I love hotdogs, but greens are cooler! 😉

  4. Eleanor August 15, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I’m not a vegetarian but I’d love one of these! Asparagus is definitely the way to go..

    I replied on my blog as well, thank you for visiting!

    Eleanor

  5. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 15, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    What an awesome idea! So simple yet so creative. 🙂

Leave a Reply

