Confessions of a 21-Day-Old Yogini

21 Aug
I’m on day 21 of 31 Days of Yoga, my project to practice yoga everyday for the month of August, and I have a few confessions to share:

Day 1: I realized it would have been smarter to do 31 days of yoga in a month that was not so humid– December or January would be perfect 😀
Day 3: My hips were so tight that pigeon pose made me want to scream like I was giving birth.
Day 5: A lovely purple towel by Yogitoes moved to the top of my wish list. On July 31st, I would have said there was no good reason whatsoever to spend money on a “yoga mat towel.”
Day 6: My thumbs, wrists, biceps, shoulders, hips, hamstrings, Achilles tendon, and toes agreed on the fact that downward facing dog will simply never be a natural position for me!

Day 7: I got so annoyed with slipping on my yoga mat that I sold it on craigslist that night.  I’m much happier with an old yoga mat from my closet that says Jet Blue all over it. Not to mention that I’m $20 closer to being a billionaire (dream big) 😀
Day 10: Someone in yoga class complimented me on my Natarajasana, dancer’s pose, and it made me smile. However, the truth is, I’ve had a few years of ballet training…

Day 11: Jamie and her series on Confessions of a Yogini inspired me to write this post 😀 Thank you, Jamie!
Day 12: I learned I can look up and let my back fall right into camel pose. 5 hours later: My spine informs me that this was not a good idea.
Day 13: I felt like a force to be reckoned with in Warrior II 😀
Day 15: I skipped two days of yoga in a row due to traveling… poor life choice!
Day 17: After two double-headers in 2 days, I began to hear “Now, move through your flow sequence” in my sleep… I may be taking a break from vinyasa after these 31 days.
Day 21: Even though my arms are starting to look more muscle-man than yoga-goddess, I really love having a regular yoga practice 😀
Smile out loud,
Rachel

6 Responses to “Confessions of a 21-Day-Old Yogini”

  1. Pam Smith August 21, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Looking forward to the last 10 days!
    sol,
    Pam

  2. indiechic927 August 21, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    I love your little comments. It’s such a cute way to blog about yoga. 🙂 I especially love the fact that you have all those cute pictures. The one with the guy in camel pose next to a camel. Is awesome… I now want to have all of those pictures. Ahahahah.

  3. Jean@RoastedRootsPumpkinSpice August 22, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Keep pushing on! Your body will love you for it 🙂

  4. Jamie August 23, 2010 at 6:20 am #

    Aww thanks for the link love and photo! Izzy says she feels like a celebrity : )

  5. Lauren @ WWoB August 24, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    This post is awesome! I am trying to get into yoga…

  6. Anjeanette August 25, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Good for you!Down dog is a staple of yoga. It’s important especially for newbies to utilize key positioning skills. I found that Leeann Carey has a great free yoga video on this very thing. Your readers might want to check it out: http://planetyoga.com/yoga-blogs/index.php/free-yoga-video-key-positioning-skills-kps-push-and-reach/

Leave a comment