Love Your Length

23 Aug

Yesterday, I did a wicked good (I’m in Massachusetts right now :D) power flow yoga class with my friend, Amanda. I always like to get out of my usual NYC yoga studio and stretch my horizons a little (or a lot, like in Anti-Gravity Yoga), so this class was a treat.

The yoga instructor, Annie, brought incredible energy to the class. I honestly felt challenged throughout the entire 75 minutes.

Annie also helped me make some really great adjustments. At one point, she (gently) pulled my neck out of my body, just like a turtle ๐Ÿ˜€

I want to share with you a few of Annie’s adjustments, because with any luck, they might make a difference in your next yoga class…

3 Tricks for Tricky Poses

1. Downward Facing Dog

Turns out, it’s not so much about down, as much as it’s about up. Annie pulled my hips up, into the air, and… WOW! This simple change displaced a great deal of weight from my arms to my legs. My arms were thrilled to have some relief, and the back of my legs got a deep stretch ๐Ÿ˜€

So, try to lift your hips straight into the air. If that doesn’t work, there’s always this option… ๐Ÿ˜€

2. Pigeon Pose

For pigeon pose, the trick is in the set-up: If you start in upper push-up plank and bend your leg just under your elbows (see below), you should do 3 push-ups there. Then, you simply lower your body from upper to lower push-up plank and BAM– you’re in your perfect pigeon pose! No twitching of the legs, no child birth pain in the hips, just a thorough stretch… for lack of a better word ๐Ÿ˜€

This guy has the right idea, but his legs are too high in the air. Of course, if you can do that, ย all the power to ya!

3. “Love Your Length”

This is Annie’s mantra, and I used it the whole class! I am convinced it can be applied to every single yoga pose… unless you can prove me wrong ๐Ÿ˜€

When I took Annie’s advice and concentrated on lengthening my poses, I found that my practice became mentally easier and physically deeper. Love your length–this mantra is definitely a keeper ๐Ÿ˜€

Smile out loud,

Rachel

5 Responses to “Love Your Length”

  1. Amanda August 23, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    MY MOMENT OF FAME HAS ARRIVED!! woohooo. i absolutely love when she says “love your length!” i’m taking a class with her tomorrow and i’m going to try to make better use of that phrase ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Lauren @ WWoB August 24, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    These are good tips!
    Have you started classes yet? Cali is so obnoxious in that we are on the quarter system, so I dont start until late September!

  3. Olivia August 24, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    thanks for the cool tips! i am such a newbie at this ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Lauren (Clean Eats in the Dirty South) September 4, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    love love love this! i have a long way to go in my practice so these tips are much appreciated. i’d love to be able to do pigeon pose one day. i’m working on my shoulderstand right now.

    • Anne April 11, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      I just read your blog and am so happy my words translated into your body:)
      Hope you’re loving your practice and that perhaps I’ll see you and Amanda in class this summer. “love your length”.
      Namaste

Leave a Reply

