Figs from Heaven

16 Oct

Where on earth have I been the last few weeks?! Too far from my blog loves, that is for sure πŸ˜€

I am back now! With Round 1 of midterm exams complete and a month until Round 2 begins, I have the time to find some balance between school, work, life, and, oh ya, the pursuit of happiness and healthiness πŸ˜€

I have a lot to share with you since I’ve been away–well, away at the library, but same difference…

First, you need to meet my friend, Sam. She’s the calm, cool, and collected soul on the left (I’m the one on the right who can’t stop laughing, per usual):

Sometimes, I prefer to call her Goddess of Goat Cheese & Figs. Here’s why:

She arrived at my apartment with a carton of fresh figs and goat cheese, having been inspired by the warm fig and goat cheese salad that we had at Pisticci back in September. 400 degrees later, these guys popped out of the oven….

These figs tasted so good that they seemed to melt in my mouth. If you are craving a slice of heaven, then you owe it to yourself to make them for yourself. I told you Sam is a goddess πŸ˜€

Next up, please meet Mr. Mango, as he has been affectionately named.

Pretty cute, right? πŸ˜€ I found him in my fruit bowl after the Goddess of Goat Cheese & Figs left. What a delightful surprise, I must say…

Well, that is all for now. I have a lot of posts planned for this coming week, so I’ll be back soon with strawberry spinach salad, runs on the Hudson River, and homemade LARABARS. Can’t wait to catch up on all your blogs and lives!

Smile out loud,

Rachel

10 Responses to “Figs from Heaven”

  1. Pam Smith October 16, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    welcome back Rachel!
    OK- I love figs and goat cheese. Never thought of taking fresh figs, not dried, and baking ? Duh-
    or as you would say, SOL! So I’ll give these a try.
    Today I’m baking Applecrisp and baked Chili Rellanos for a dinner party! I better get to the kitchen!
    So glad to hear from your blog again- SOL
    Pam

    • Rachel October 28, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

      Hope the dinner party went well, Pam!! The menu certainly sounds delicious to me πŸ˜€

  2. Jamie Therrien October 16, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Hi Rachel!

    Your mom sent me your latest blog entry and I’ve gone back and read everything. Love your take on life and your energy! I have a yoga experience for you for next summer. This past summer Emma, Sophie and I tried paddle boarding. Did you know they have yoga classes on paddle boards? Can’t even imagine — but something tells me you could do it. So glad to have this glimpse into your exciting life. xoxo Jamie

    • Rachel October 28, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      Hi Jamie! I’m so thrilled you’re reading!!

      Wow, yoga class on a paddleboard–that sounds absolutely incredible! I can’t wait to hear about your experience paddleboarding. I’ve never even tried it, but it’s going on my list now πŸ˜€

      Have an awesome weekend!

  3. Krista October 19, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    sounds really good!!!

    • Rachel October 28, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

      Thanks, Krista! Miss you oodles! I loved getting your postcard this week πŸ˜€ Hope all is well in Germany.

  4. Sharon October 19, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    yum those figs w/ goat cheese look delish! πŸ™‚

    • Rachel October 28, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

      mmmm they were, Sharon! You should try them πŸ™‚

  5. dwango October 25, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    you run on the river? teach me.

    • Rachel October 28, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

      Hahaha ok dwang0, I’ll try πŸ˜€

Leave a comment